The Circle Constant War

So I was romping around the internet as usual, and I found this:

https://tauday.com/tau-manifesto

I won’t talk much about the article itself so you guys can check it out, but dang, I’ll just say that it was somewhat enlightening.

We all know that pi is a constant you magically get by dividing an arbitrary circle’s circumference by its diameter, but isn’t it odd that we don’t really use the diameter that much? Instead, it’s radius this and radius that. The unit of turning is even called the radian.

Then why don’t we use 2π as the constant, because the radius is so much more important? Thus, 2π was given a name, Tau.

τ = 6.283185307179586… = Circumference/Radius

To all you #TeamPi guys out there, don’t worry, I’m not trying to spread Tau propaganda or whatever you call it (not really). I still respect Pi Day and the effort behind pi, but I think that intuitively, Tau is a lot more correct. I still have more digits of pi memorized than tau, and I consider myself slightly neutral in the war between constants. (Slightly leaning towards tau though)

I never knew it would come to the point where math would have strange politics that lead to so many debates and arguments, but there we have it. We now have a civil war of tau versus pi, in which pi is still in the lead. But you never know, maybe one day, people will accept tau as the one true circle constant.

What team are you on?

Leave a Reply

